Jorge Luis Borges

Today would have been Jorge Luis Borges’ 112th birthday. Borges was an Argentinian author who initially captivated me with his book Ficciones, which was first published in 1944. He could create a completely believeable unreal masterpiece. He is a pleasure to read for his complexity and wit. He is also a “magical realism” pioneer, blending fact and fiction with dreams and intricate puzzles. Borges remains one of my favourite writers.

“I am not sure that I exist, actually,” he said.

He never won a Nobel Prize in Literature, despite a strong writing career. He died on June 14, 1986 of cancer in Geneva aged 86. He said: “Not granting me the Nobel Prize has become a Scandinavian tradition; since I was born they have not been granting it to me.”

It also appears a cafe in Buenos Aires called Cafe Richmond that Borges frequented is going to become a Nike shop. Robert Cox, former editor of the Buenos Aires Herald, calls it “horrific” and “barbaric.” I would agree..

Jorge Luis Borges

Legendary Buenos Aires cafe to make way for Nike shop

Leave a Reply

